Pretend

elegant-1769669__340

I’ve been holding my tears for a long time now.

I pretend that I’m okay when I’m clearly not.

I kept telling myself that I would be better off without you

But my heart keeps on calling your name,

yearning for you to hold it, so it wouldn’t break like glass.

 

I’m the one who never cries.

I’m the one who always show a smile.

But beneath that fake mask is a person wounded and scarred because of your thorns.

But instead of accidentally getting poked and wounded,

why do you love stabbing me with them repeatedly?

 

 

The images of how you walked away from me are still vivid.

How can I ever forget the words you said to me?

“It was just a spark that destined to vanish after.”

The way your lips moved while you said that,

it was quite degrading and it broke every part of my body.

 

 

That’s why I kept on pretending that I’m okay.

I wouldn’t want people to judge and berate me,

even though they clearly don’t know my story.

That’s why I just held my head high,

and pretend that you still love me like how I love you.

elegant-1769669__340

 

Author: vhinvhinvhin

your conyo-speaking father and kuya next door // aspirant // realist

Leave a comment